Æthenor / Alexander Tucker


10.05.2006 20:30

Æthenor (US)
Æthenor is a new group featuring members of Guapo, Khanate, Phô, Miasma & the Carousel of Headless Horses, Shora and Sunn O))), based in Geneva, London and New York. Their debut album Deep in Ocean Sunk the Lamp of Light is the result of a series of nocturnal improvisation sessions in Geneva, Amsterdam, Berlin and Linz between 2003 and 2005. Æthenor makes music that can best be described as floaty soundscapes and organic improvisations that take the listener on a mysterious dark trip. Music reminiscent of Organum, Coil, Popol Vuh and Supersilent in both approach and sound. One moment calm like a flat sea at dusk, where every little sound breaks the silence, the next almost deafening as if a volcano suddenly erupts. Powerful traits that clearly allude to the past history of each of the members, occasionally surfacing on Æthenor.

Deep in Ocean Sunk the Lamp of Light with Stephen O’Malley will be released this year on VHF Records (see Pelt, Richard Youngs, Vibracathedral Orchestra, among others)

Vincent De Roguin: voice, organ, minimoog / Daniel O’Sullivan: Fender Rhodes piano, percussion / Nicolas Field: drums, percussion / Alexandre Babel: drums, percussion

Alexander Tucker
Alexander Tucker (UK)
Alexander Tucker is a British experimental guitarist who for several years has developed a highly idiosyncratic somewhat chaotic way of playing guitar. In 2000, he recorded his self-titled solo album, an album full of acoustic strumming, soaring electronics and dark vocals. The album was picked up by Tom Greenwood of Jackie-O-Moterfucker and released on his U-sound label. This was not without consequence as he was soon asked for guest appearances with Jackie-O-Motherfucker, Bardo Pond & Sunn O)))). Stephen O’Malley of Sunn O))) even recently invited him into the studio to collaborate on Remeindre under his improv group Ginnungagap. Last year, Tucker’s 2nd album Old Fog was also released on the ATP label. During his solo performances, Tucker uses tape loops, detuned guitars (both acoustic and electric), dictaphones and live processed field recordings, producing folk drones mixed with a pinch of black metal.

Alexander Tucker takes the raw mysterious stuff of English folk song and detours it through a post-industrial mind set The Wire.


Oliver Beer / Rubén D’hers / Nicolas Field / Julian Sartorius / Michael Schmid / Konrad Smoleński / Rutger Zuydervelt